



Speech by

Hon. PETER BEATTIE

MEMBER FOR BRISBANE CENTRAL

Hansard 18 March 2004

MINISTERIAL STATEMENT

Appointment of Ministry

Hon. P. D. BEATTIE (Brisbane Central—ALP) (Premier and Minister for Trade) (10.05 a.m.): I inform the House that on 12 February 2004, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001, Her Excellency the Governor accepted certain resignations. Mr Speaker, I have a list of the ministers here. I seek leave to have that list incorporated in *Hansard*.

Leave granted.

Accepted the resignations of-

ANNA MARIA BLIGH as Minister for Education;

MATTHEW JOSEPH FOLEY as Minister for Employment, Training and Youth and Minister for the Arts;

WENDY MARJORIE EDMOND as Minister for Health and Minister Assisting the Premier on Women's Policy;

THOMAS ALFRED BARTON as Minister for State Development;

ANTHONY McGRADY as Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister Assisting the Premier on the Carpentaria Minerals Province:

STEPHEN DOMINIC BREDHAUER as Minister for Transport and Minister for Main Roads;

DEAN MacMILLAN WELLS as Minister for Environment;

ROBERT EVAN SCHWARTEN as Minister for Public Works and Minister for Housing;

JUDITH CAROLINE SPENCE as Minister for Families and Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Policy and Minister for Disability Services and Minister for Seniors;

HENRY PALASZCZUK as Minister for Primary Industries and Rural Communities:

STEPHEN ROBERTSON as Minister for Natural Resources and Minister for Mines;

NITA IRENE CUNNINGHAM as Minister for Local Government and Planning;

MICHAEL FRANCIS REYNOLDS as Minister for Emergency Services and Minister Assisting the Premier in North Queensland;

GORDON RICHARD NUTTALL as Minister for Industrial Relations; and

PAUL THOMAS LUCAS as Minister for Innovation and Information Economy

Mr BEATTIE: The Governor also accepted the resignations of Matthew Joseph Foley, Wendy Marjorie Edmond, Stephen Dominic Bredhauer, Dean MacMillan Wells and Nita Irene Cunningham as members of the Executive Council of Queensland and appointed Peter Douglas Beattie to be Premier and Minister for Trade and to be a member of the Executive Council of Queensland: Terence Michael Mackenroth to be Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Sport; Anna Maria Bligh to be Minister for Education and the Arts; Thomas Alfred Barton to be Minister for Employment, Training and Industrial Relations: Anthony McGrady to be Minister for State Development and Innovation: Gordon Richard Nuttall to be Minister for Health; Robert Evan Schwarten to be Minister for Public Works, Housing and Racing; Judith Caroline Spence to be Minister for Police and Corrective Services; Rodney Jon Welford to be Attorney-General and Minister for Justice; Paul Thomas Lucas to be Minister for Transport and Main Roads; Henry Palaszczuk to be Minister for Primary Industries and Fisheries; Stephen Robertson to be Minister for Natural Resources, Mines and Energy; Michael Francis Reynolds to be Minister for Child Safety; Frederick Warren Pitt to be Minister for Communities and Disability Services; Margaret Majella Keech to be Minister for Tourism, Fair Trading and Wine Industry Development; Reginald John Mickel to be Minister for Environment; Desley Carole Boyle to be Minister for Local Government and Planning; Christopher Paul Cummins to be Minister for Emergency Services; and Elizabeth Ann Clark to be Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Policy. The Governor also appointed those ministers to be members of the Executive Council. I seek leave to have their names incorporated in Hansard.

Leave granted.

Appointed-

TERENCE MICHAEL MACKENROTH; ANNA MARIA BLIGH; THOMAS ALFRED BARTON: ANTHONY McGRADY GORDON RICHARD NUTTALL; ROBERT EVAN SCHWARTEN; JUDITH CAROLINE SPENCE: RODNEY JON WELFORD: PAUL THOMAS LUCAS; HENRY PALASZCZUK; STEPHEN ROBERTSON; MICHAEL FRANCIS REYNOLDS: FREDERICK WARREN PITT: MARGARET MAJELLA KEECH; REGINALD JOHN MICKEL; **DESLEY CAROLE BOYLE;** CHRISTOPHER PAUL CUMMINS; and ELIZABETH ANN CLARK

to be members of the Executive Council of Queensland.

Mr BEATTIE: I inform the House that on 12 February 2004, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001, Her Excellency the Governor, acting by and with the advice of the Executive Council appointed a number of parliamentary secretaries: Karen Lee Struthers, Neil Stuart Roberts, Jo-Ann Roslyn Miller and Patrick Douglas Purcell. I want to inform the House that on 19 February 2004, in accordance with the same provision, Her Excellency appointed Lindy Helena Nelson-Carr and Linda Denise Lavarch as parliamentary secretaries. I seek leave to have the details of the parliamentary secretaries and the relevant sections of the constitution under which they were appointed incorporated in *Hansard*.

Leave granted.

KAREN LEE STRUTHERS, as Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier (Multicultural Affairs) and Minister for Trade;

NEIL STUART ROBERTS, as Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Premier, Treasurer and Minister for Sport;

JO-ANN ROSLYN MILLER as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Health; and

PATRICK DOUGLAS PURCELL as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Public Works, Housing and Racing.

I inform the House that, on 12 February 2004, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001, Her Excellency the Governor, acting by and with the advice of the Executive Council approved Administrative Arrangements Order (No. 1) 2004.

...

LINDY HELENA NELSON-CARR, as Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier in North Queensland; and

LINDA DENISE LAVARCH, as Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for State Development and Innovation

I inform the House that, on 19 February 2004, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001, Her Excellency the Governor, acting by and with the advice of the Executive Council approved Administrative Arrangements Amendment Order (No. 1) 2004.

Inform the House that, on 26 February 2004, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001 Her Excellency the Governor, acting by and with the advice of the Executive Council approved Administrative Arrangements Amendment Order (No. 2) 2004.

Mr BEATTIE: I also seek leave to have incorporated in *Hansard* the appointment of Desley Carole Boyle as the Minister for Local Government, Planning and Women.

Leave granted.

I also inform the House that on 11 March 2004, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001, Her Excellency the Governor—

- (a) Accepted the resignation of—
 - DESLEY CAROLE BOYLE as Minister for Local Government and Planning.
- (b) Appointed—

DESLEY CAROLE BOYLE, to be Minister for Local Government, Planning and Women.

Mr BEATTIE: Finally, I inform the House that on 11 March 2004, in accordance with the Constitution of Queensland 2001, Her Excellency the Governor, acting by and with the advice of the Executive Council approved Administrative Arrangements Amendment Order (No. 3) 2004. I lay upon the table of the House copies of the relevant notifications from the *Queensland Extraordinary Government Gazette*.